Minutes, 9/28 USG Senate Meeting:

Meeting called to order at 7:10 PM

- 1.1 Agenda was amended through unanimous consent to include the following items:
- 1.4 Presentation by USG Treasurer, Rajat Gupta
- 2.1 Presentation by Mr. Johnny Wong

Agenda was then unanimously adopted.

- 1.2 Minutes for 9/14 and 9/21 USG Senate meetings were unanimously adopted after spelling changes to some of the names, such as appear in the official minutes with the USG Executive Vice President.
- 1.3 Vince Rasulo was appointed temporary secretary by unanimous consent of the USG Senate.
- 1.4 USG Treasurer, Rajat Gupta, presented his report.
 - Budget Committee to consist of three (3) USG Executive Council members and three (3) USG Senators, to be chaired by USG Treasurer (non-voting.)

Motion 1 to create Budget Review Committee composed of three (3) Council members, three (3) Senators, and Chaired by Rajat Gupta (USG Treasurer,) moved by Senator Kfier Kuba and seconded by Senator Mehruba Anwar.

12 For, 0 Against, 2 Abstentions (to be reported 12-0-2,) Motion Passes.

Motion 2 to open nominations for Senators on the review committee, moved by Senator Jon Lawson, seconded by Sen. Andrew Thompson.

Adopted unanimously.

Nominees: Final tally:
Sen. Gianna
Sen. Bauchman
Sen. Shalu
Sen. Ashwill
Sen. Hsu
Sen. Hsu
Sen. Jon Lawson
Sen. Dyer

Final tally:

13 votes

(Withdraws)

(Withdraws)

8 votes

5 votes

Motion 3 to close nominations, moved by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Erica. **Adopted unanimously.**

Motion 4 to table nominations until next meeting, moved by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Thompson.

4-11-1 (For-Against-Abstain)

Motion Fails

Motion 5 to hold nominations this evening moved by Sen. Anwar and seconded by Sen. Suryadevara.

-Discussion

Motion 6 to end debate, moved by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Dyer. 13-0-3, adopts 2/3 majority and **passes.**

Motion 7 on the previous question (on holding nominations this evening,) 7-6-2, motion **passes**.

Motion 8 for 5 minute recess, moved by Sen. Bauchman, seconded by Sen. Erica. 13-2-0, motion **passes.**

Quorum Call, 14 Senators Present

Motion 9 for 30 sec. recess by Sen. Lawson, seconded by Sen. Dyer, 11-0-1, motion **passes**.

Motion 10 to reconsider **Motion 7**, Senator Erica voted on the prevailing side and the motion is ruled in order, seconded by Sen. Thompson.

7-7-2, motion **fails**.

Motion 11 for one minute presentation by Senate candidates to Budget Review Committee, moved by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Hsu. Passes by acclimation.

Motion 12 for five-minute recess by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Reubin, passes by acclimation.

Motion 13 to suspend the rules, vote on paper ballots for the Senate nominees, the highest three votes for nominees determining victors, moved by Sen. Lawson and seconded by Sen. Erica.

15-0-1, achieves 2/3 majority and passes.

Vote results appear above next to nominee names.

2.0 Election of PPT after 3 minute speeches:

Nominees: Vote totals:

Sen. Lawson 11 Sen. Kuba 4

Sen. Wu (Withdraws) Sen Anwar (Withdraws)

Sen. Lawson elected President Pro-tempore (PPT.)

Motion to adjourn, by PPT Lawson and seconded by Sen. Dyer, adopted by acclimation.

Meeting Adjourns at 8:58 PM.

Special thanks to Acting Secretary Vincent Rasulo for minutes.