Stony Brook University - Undergraduate Student Government - Senate

Regular Meeting – Thursday, September 4, 2008

Meeting called to order at 7:50 p.m Executive Vice-President Geeta Malieckal presiding.

Agenda

1.0 Attendance

Members present:

Senator Matthew Anderson

Senator Sungyong Bae

Senator Aharon Benelyahoo

Senator Aneta Bose

Senator Ebbie Boutehsez

Senator Kevin Brady

Senator Shahzad Chaudry

Senator Shamell Forbes

Senator Jonathan Harounian

Senator Steven Hauptman

Senator Adam Kent

Senator John Kriscenski

Senator Dae Young Lee

Senator Kirin Mahmud

Senator Sean Moore

Senator Lauren Potenza

Senator Ashley Reji

Senator Kathleen Shultz

Senator Blake Wind

Guest present:

President Jeffrey Akita

Vice-President of Communications Vanessa Cheris

Executive Treasurer Alan Sucheki

2.0 Announcements

The Chair welcomed the new Senators and the Parliamentarian. She wished everyone good luck as the new year begins.

3.0 Nominations for President Pro-Tempore

Senator Kathleen Shultz nominated Senator John Kriscenski. Senator Steven Hauptman nominated Senator Adam Kent. Senator Shahzad Chaudry nominated Senator Matthew Anderson. The nominees accepted and seconded their nominations. The Chair called for any further nominations and seeing none, closed the nominations and granted each candidate five minutes to speak.

4.0 President Pro-Tempore Election

Without objection, the Chair called for the voting method in the President Pro-Tempore election to be secret ballots. Voting proceeded accordingly.

Results:

Senator John Kriscenski - 11

Senator Adam Kent - 4

Senator Matthew Anderson - 4

The Chair pronounced Senator John Kriscenski as the winner and as the President Pro-Tempore.

5.0 Open Agenda

Senator Matt Anderson congratulated Senator Kriscenski for winning the President Pro-Tempore election and called for another round of applause for Senator Kriscenski.

President Jeff Akita congratulated the Senate for a successful first meeting and for successfully electing the President Pro-Tempore. He wished them a great year and urged them to prepare for a work-filled year.

Andrew Morrison of the New York Public Interest Research Group (NYPIRG) mentioned the various efforts of his organization included a voter registration drive and noted the importance of this year's election and reported that NYPIRG's efforts registering voters thus far have been successful. He urged the Senators to get involved with NYPIRG.

Senator John Kriscenski asked Andrew Morrison if he was the Field Coordinator and Morrison replied that he was not but was Regional Campus Supervisor. Senator Kriscenski went on to ask Morrison if the Field Coordinator on campus last year was going to continue this year and Morrison informed the Senator that the previous Field Coordinator would not be returning.

The Chair welcomed the Vice-President of Communications Vanessa Cheris and the Executive Treasurer Alan Sucheki. Senator Kriscenski also thanked the Treasurer for his previous efforts in his post.

The Chair asked the Senate and the gallery if there were any additional comments and received no response.

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:08 p.m.