Stony Brook School of Medicine Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting October 26th, 2004

Dr. Cedric Priebe (Presiding) Dr. Scott Johnson (Recording) Attendance: Please see attached attendance roster

Dr. Priebe called the meeting to order at 5:05.

I. Review of minutes of Meeting of 5/25/04:

• approved by all those in attendance

II. Faculty Senate Membership

- New members of the Faculty Senate were approved unanimously. The new members are:
 - o Dr. Ronald Jasiewicz Anesthesiology
 - Dr. Anthony Ippolito Anesthesiology
 - Dr. Howard Sussman Family Medicine
 - Dr. Jasiewicz, however, is away on military leave.

III. APT Committee Membership:

- Dr. Priebe stated that the APT committee policies and evaluation criteria are now available on the SOM website.
- New members of the APT committee were approved unanimously. The new members are:
 - o Dr. Sharon Nachman, Chair Pediatrics
 - Dr. Richard Bronson Ob/Gyn
 - Dr. James Grendell Winthrop, Gastroenterology
 - Dr. Marc Golightly Pathology
 - o Dr. William Reed Winthrop, Surgery
 - Dr. Steven Smith Biochemistry
 - O Dr. Nand Wadhwa Nephrology

IV. RAAP Committee

- Dr. Priebe announced that Dr. Wadie Bahou, the RAAP committee chair, will make a preliminary report and presentation to the Faculty Senate at the November 23rd meeting.
- New members of the RAAP committee were approved unanimously. The new members are:
 - Dr. R. David Bynum Research Biochemistry
 - o Dr. Enrique Criado Vascular Surgery
 - Dr. Ronald Jasiewicz Anesthesiology(leave)
 - Dr. Roger Johnson Physiology/Biophysics
 - Dr. Joav Prives Pharmacology
 - o Dr. Basil Rigas Cancer Prevention

V. Committee on Academic Standing

• Dr. Susan Larson (Dept. of Anatomy) was approved as the chairperson of the committee, and Dr. Catherine Belling (Dept. of Preventive Medicine) was approved as a new member.

Dr. Priebe

Dr. Priebe

Dr. Johnson

Dr. Priebe

Dr. Priebe

VI Research Foundation Presentation

Dr. Gail Hbicht,VP Research Mr. Ivar Strand,Dir OSP

- A grant writing workshop will be held Wed. November 17th, in the Wang Center, Rm 101, from 12:25-2:00.
- Dr. Habicht described the role of the Research Foundation, which she states was formed to manage SOM Research, as the state could not appropriate funds effectively.
- Ivar Strand distributed several informative documents describing the Research Foundation, the Office of Sponsored Programs, and the Office of the Vice President of Research.
 - Mr. Strand described which research applications are administered by the Research Foundation, and which are administered by the Stony Brook Foundation.
 - Mr. Strand described the facilities and administrative costs, and explained how the facilities and administrative costs are distributed.
 - A list of resources and web links were distributed to help educate and assist faculty. The Community of Science, a full range of Internet-based services for the world's researchers-including a web database of funding opportunities, was described.
- Dr. Simon commended the OSP/OVPR for dramatically improving the process of performing clinical trials. He suggested we begin to take a more proactive posture with collaborative endeavors within the SOM.
- Dr. Habicht explained that collaborative research may be difficult to do with the west campus, as there are disparate processes for grant applications. We need more uniform rules and methods, especially in developing budgets.
- Question to Mr. Strand regarding the laborious process of completing the required 4 page form; Mr. Strand stated that hopefully at the beginning of the New Year there will be an electronic 4 page form, which will be able to be completed and signed electronically.
- An outside IRB review is available for pharmaceutical derived or sponsored protocols. The decision to utilize the outside IRB will be the PI's.
- Dr. Madajewicz expressed concern over loss of contracts for clinical trials due to bureaucracy. Mr. Strand stated that master agreements will help streamline the process.

VII. Curriculum Committee Progress Report

Dr. Peter Williams

- Dr. Williams gave a report on the objectives and progress of the curriculum committee.
- Dr. Williams described the LCME's standards for accreditation. The LCME will return to SB in 12/04 to address centralized management of the curriculum and lack of measurable educational objectives.
 The site visit will be 12/13-12/14.
- Curriculum Committee business was described:
 - each course is reviewed every 3 years
 - Subcommittees: Basic Science/Preclinical course directors, Clinical course directors, Objectives and Assessment, and Examinations.
 - An education update is done each meeting by Elza Mylona and John Chaves to inform the committee of latest educational modalities.
- New tools:
 - Course scheduling software-CBase
 - Academic and events calendar on the web
- New school mission and objectives have been developed:
 - Year 1- foundations for Medical practice

- Year 2- block system exams, synchronization of Pharmacology with systems
- Clinical training- expanded ICM, standardized clinical assessment forms, web-based patient logs and procedure certification.
- Ongoing problems:
 - o Quality and quantity of exams
 - Readings and use of time
 - Competition for time and attention of faculty
- Dr. Williams expressed an open invitation to attend the Curriculum Committee's meetings- the first Monday of the month; OVP conference room at 8:00 am.
- Dr. Williams asked Faculty Senate to consider Bylaw change that would expand curriculum committee to allow 2 "at-large" members from any department, as well as to allow 2 reps from the Department of Medicine, given the number of faculty that comprise the Medicine Department. This is first notice of this amendment to the Bylaws. The second notice will be at the next meeting in November.
- A vote for new committee members was carried out. Senators voted for 6 members from the following candidates:
 - o Dr. Moises Eisenberg Informatics and Pharmacological Sciences
 - Dr. Roger Cameron Pharmacological Sciences
 - Dr. Richard Bronson Ob/Gyn
 - Dr. Thomas O'Riordan Pulmonary
 - o Dr. Paul Richman Pulmonary
 - Dr. Joseph Sorrento Surgery
 - Dr. Tamara Weiss Radiation Oncology

Initially Dr. O'Riordan will represent the Medical Department following the vote of members present.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15pm